Image Map

 

BASKETBALL

Contact Us – Basketball

 


SYA Basketball serves over 2,400 players on 240 teams in winter and summer seasons.

We are blessed with a mix of long-serving and new volunteers. And we are always looking for energetic and helpful members of the community to join us.

Do it today! Interested? Send a note to Dave Scanlon

 

 


 

Winter Commissioners

If you have any questions about tryouts, coaching, or anything in your child’s age group — please feel free to contact your house league commissioner directly.

League Grade Commissioner Email
Travel 5th-8th Dave Scanlon basketball@syasports.org
Boys 1st Frank McNulty fmcnulty1@verizon.net
Boys 2nd Georgette Nuss georgette.nuss@gmail.com
Boys 3rd Rasheka Barnes rtbarnes01@aol.com
Boys 4th Brandon Vickers brandonvickers1@gmail.com
Boys 5th Kristi Purdy
Paul St.Germain
purdyks@yahoo.com
psaintgermain@verizon.net
Boys 6th Kristi Purdy purdyks@yahoo.com
Boys 7th Jeff Rife jeffrife@gmail.com
Boys 8th Kristi Purdy purdyks@yahoo.com
Boys 9th-10th  TBA
Boys 11th-12th Joe Mancuso joemancuso2@cox.net
Girls  1st/ 2nd Toneshia Proctor toneshia_proctor@yahoo.com
Girls 3rd/4th Paul Miller pmiller@mwcapitol.com
Girls 5th/6th Ted Thanos kingthanos5369@gmail.com
Girls 7th-12th John Garman johngarman@cox.net

 

Is your son North or South? – Boy’s 4th- 8th leagues are divided geographically by home address. If you live in the Liberty MS/Centreville High or Fairfax or Robinson school area, you are in the “South” Division. If you live in the Stone MS/Westfield High School area you are in the “North” Division.

League commissioners are responsible for the tasks that start and keep a league running. Duties include:

  • holding skill evaluations
  • drafting teams
  • scheduling games and practices
  • tracking wins and losses
  • running the end-of-season tournament
  • overseeing All-Star selections
  • enforcing SYA rules and policies
  • attending monthly board meetings.

 


Executive Board

Executive Board Name Email
President Dave Scanlon  Basketball@syasports.org
Past-President Robert Korman robert.m.korman@exxonmobil.com
Treasurer Vacant
Quartermaster Charlie Velasco FraPrnt104@aol.com
Referee Commissioner Justin Barrow justinbarrow30@gmail.com
Referee Scheduler Justin Barrow justinbarrow30@gmail.com
Assistant Referee Commissioner Thomas Yeo yeo.thomas.sya@gmail.com
Travel Commissioner Dave Scanlon Basketball@syasports.org
Summer Camp Commissioner Vacant
Gym Scheduler/CSR Rep Charlie Velasco
FraPrnt104@aol.com
Basketball Website Curator Michael Gregory michaelgregory4@gmail.com


Click Below To Translate:


SYA Office Location: 5950 Centreville Crest Lane, Centreville, VA 20121 | SYA Mailing Address: Southwestern Youth Association, P.O. Box 471, Centreville, VA 20122 Phone: (703) 815-3362 | Fax: (703) 815-2180 | E-mail: admin@syayouthsports.org | Designed by GroupNet Solutions