Image Map

 

BASKETBALL

House League Home

SYA Winter Basketball Program

SYA Winter Basketball offers both House and Travel leagues for boys and girls.

House league basketball is for 1-12th grades. House league skill evaluations are held in early November for grades 4-12th . Games are played in local school gyms on weekends. There is 1 practice during the weekdays. Volunteer coaches are needed!

Travel is for 5-8th grade boys and girls. Travel league tryouts are held in early October. Check the SYA website for times and locations of tryouts. Games are played in school gyms in Fairfax County. The season runs from November through early March with games on the weekends and 2 practices during the weekdays.


Rescheduled Skill Evaluations Schedule

The rescheduled Skill Evaluations will take place at Liberty MS on Saturday November 18th. Below is the schedule. This is only for the grades listed below. High School leagues will have Skill Evaluations later in November.

Boys 7th grade             9:00am

Boys 6th grade             10:00am

Boys 5th grade             11:00am

Boys 8th grade             12:00pm

Boys 4th grade             1:00pm

Girls 3-4th grade          2:00pm

Girls 5-6th grade          3:00pmSYA DSG DAY 17


 

Winter House League Commissioners

If you have any questions about tryouts, coaching, or anything in your child’s age group — please feel free to contact your house league commissioner directly.

 

League Grade Commissioner Email
Travel 5th-8th Dave Scanlon basketball@syasports.org
Boys 1st Frank McNulty fmcnulty1@verizon.net
Boys 2nd Georgette Nuss georgette.nuss@gmail.com
Boys 3rd Rasheka Barnes rtbarnes01@aol.com
Boys 4th Brandon Vickers brandonvickers1@gmail.com
Boys 5th Kristi Purdy
Paul St.Germain
purdyks@yahoo.com
psaintgermain@verizon.net
Boys 6th Kristi Purdy purdyks@yahoo.com
Boys 7th Jeff Rife jeffrife@gmail.com
Boys 8th Kristi Purdy purdyks@yahoo.com
Boys 9th-10th  TBA  
Boys 11th-12th Joe Mancuso joemancuso2@cox.net
Girls  1st/ 2nd Toneshia Proctor toneshia_proctor@yahoo.com
Girls 3rd/4th Paul Miller               pmiller@mwcapitol.com
Girls 5th/6th Ted Thanos kingthanos5369@gmail.com
Girls 7th-12th John Garman johngarman@cox.net

Free Throws For Friends of Wounded Veterans

This season SYA Basketball will be hosting it’s 3rd Annual Free Throws For The Friends of Wounded Veterans. During the winter all SYA  Basketball youth will take 20 free throws and for each one made, pledges will pay $1. All players fill out your pledge sheet and give to coach. If you need a pledge sheet, click on link below for a downloadable pdf pledge sheet. All money collected will be donated directly to Friends of Wounded Veterans.

PLEDGE-House-Basketball


Click Below To Translate:


SYA Office Location: 5950 Centreville Crest Lane, Centreville, VA 20121 | SYA Mailing Address: Southwestern Youth Association, P.O. Box 471, Centreville, VA 20122 Phone: (703) 815-3362 | Fax: (703) 815-2180 | E-mail: admin@syayouthsports.org | Designed by GroupNet Solutions